All the Sad Young Men - F. Scott Fitzgerald

All the Sad Young Men

By F. Scott Fitzgerald

  • Release Date: 2012-06-11
  • Genre: Classics
4 Score: 4 (From 18 Ratings)


About the Book
All the Sad Young Men

All the Sad Young Men is the third collection of short stories written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, published by Scribner’s in February 1926. Fitzgerald wrote the stories at a time of disillusionment. He was in financial difficulty, he believed his wife Zelda was romantically involved with another man, she had suffered a series of physical illnesses, and his play The Vegetable had been a failure.

The volume contains 9 stories:

1) The Rich Boy
2) Winter Dreams
3) The Baby Party
4) Absolution
5) Rags Martin-Jones and the Pr-nce of W-les
6) The Adjuster
7) Hot and Cold Blood
8) The Sensible Thing
9) Gretchen’s Forty Winks

As with his other collections, its release was timed to follow the completion of his most recent novel, The Great Gatsby. Fitzgerald wrote "Absolution", one of the best-received stories in the collection, as a false start to Gatsby.

About the Author
F. Scott Fitzgerald

Francis Scott Key Fitzgerald (September 24, 1896 – December 21, 1940) was an American author of novels and short stories, whose works are the paradigm writings of the Jazz Age, a term he coined himself. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest American writers of the 20th century. Fitzgerald is considered a member of the "Lost Generation" of the 1920s. He finished four novels: This Side of Paradise, The Beautiful and Damned, Tender Is the Night, and his most famous, The Great Gatsby. A fifth, unfinished novel, The Love of the Last Tycoon, was published posthumously. Fitzgerald also wrote many short stories that treat themes of youth and promise along with despair and age.